Accountability for achieving the key performance indicators that drive the place-based improvement plan rests with all of those collectively involved in educating Plymouth’s children but also with those who hold key roles in leading and implementing the plan.

Two key governance structures help maintain the plan’s strategic focus and its coherence, as well as monitoring and evaluating the impact of implementation activities ‘on the ground’ in schools in improving pupil outcomes: the Strategic Education Group (SEG) and the Place Based Strategy Board.

The new structures outlined below are also complemented by the existing school improvement infrastructure in the city in which a number of stakeholders and leaders play important roles, these include: the Plymouth Education Board (PEB), SEND and Inclusion Strategy Boards, the Plymouth Leadership Team (PLT) and others.

Plymouth Place-based governance structures:

SEG Membership 2022-2023

Place Based Strategy Board (PBSB) Membership 2022-23

Current Chair – Rob Haring (CEO)

RSC Office – Sophie Turner (Team Leader Southwest Regions Group)

Director of Childrens’ Services Plymouth City Council – Sharon Muldoon

Place Based Co-ordinator – Anna Mills

Greenshaw Learning Trust – Will Smith (CEO)

Thinking Schools Academy Trust – Stuart Gardner (CEO)

Plymouth CAST – Zoe Batten (CEO)

Westcountry Schools Trust – Rob Haring (CEO)

Ted Wragg Trust – Moira Marder (CEO)

Reach South – Dean Ashton (CEO)

Transforming Futures Trust – Matthew Barnes (CEO)

Plymouth Association of Secondary Heads (PASH)  - Lee Sargeant

EEF – Lorwyn Randall

Teaching School Hub – Martin Smith

Kingsbridge Research School – Jon Eaton

Chair of PSSIP – Stuart Tulloch-Thomas

RSC Chair  - Lucy Livings (Deputy Director SW Regions Group)

CEO Plymouth City Council – Tracey Lee

SEG members as listed above